You have been blessed with a burden…

I heard this in a movie not long ago, and although at the time, I have understood its meaning in that context, I didn’t realize that soon I will discover how I’ll take these words to heart, and what they will mean.

Today it happened. Today I realized, by digging deep, very deep inside me, into the deepest place inside me where I was scared to look for the longest time, that I have been blessed with a burden. As a sat in my car, with the spectacle of the city lights enfolding before my eyes, I found myself saying these words to… myself. Initially, I cried. This realization made me sad to the core. Because the emphasis was on the burden. A few hours later, serendipity stepped in and I understood more. I understood more by concentrating on the word “blessed”. And my despair transformed into a deep and peaceful happiness. I have been blessed with a burden. And for this blessing, I thank God, and I am grateful beyond words. Earlier today, as I uttered “You have been blessed with a burden”, bitter tears were rolling down my face. Merely hours after that, “You have been blessed with a burden” brought the warmest smile on my face. This is the second time in a year when the stubborn smile that sits on my face, borne from the depths of my soul and surfacing through the clear, shining light of my eyes doesn’t want to go anywhere. I even smile now, as I write these beautiful words: You have been blessed with a burden. And for this blessing, I thank God 🙂

One thought on “You have been blessed with a burden…

Leave a comment